Tofu Butter Masala

Here on my blog I create and share recipes that follow my food philsophy. To me, being mindful of the food I consume is essential to living a more balanced lifestyle. Now that doesn’t necessarily mean that people can’t indulge in the occasional hamburger or ice cream sundae, because cutting those kinds of food out completely just isn’t realistic for everyone.

The key is to understand that the majority of our diet should be made of nutrient dense meals. It is also important to be open-minded to new experiences.

I love learning about different cultural foods and traditions. When it comes to my own background, my mom is Indonesian and my dad is of chinese heritage, but was born and raised in Trinidad, while I was born in Canada. So, it’s safe to say that I really enjoy big, bold and punchy flavours like scotch bonnet, pandan, curry, sambal oelek..etc. Canada is amazing since it is such a melting pot of cultures and I get to try all sort of cuisines that are just as flavourful as my own. One cuisine I find truly fascinating is Indian.

Indian food has such depth of flavour that is complex and layered, which is why I developed a creamy, warming and comforting Tofu Butter Masala recipe that will knock your socks off. Happy cooking!

Tofu Butter Masala

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

EQUIPMENT: Cutting board, chef knife, clean kitchen towel, large non-stick skillet, spatula.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 tbsp (30 mL) butter, salted
  • 1 onion, medium, small dice
  • 350 g tofu, extra firm, drained, patted dry (with clean towel) and cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 1 tbsp (15 mL) garam masala
  • 1/2 tbsp (7.5 mL) turmeric, ground
  • 2 tsp (10 mL) smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp (5 mL) chili flakes
  • 1 tsp (5 mL) cumin, ground
  • 1/2 tsp (2.5 mL) ginger, ground
  • 156 mL tomato paste
  • 1 cup (250 mL) water
  • 1 cup (250 mL) greek yogurt, plain
  • 2 tsp (10 mL) salt (or to taste)

DIRECTIONS

1) Over medium heat, in a large non-stick skillet, heat butter until fully melted.

2) Add in onions and let saute until translucent and soft.

3) Add in tofu and spices. Using a spatula, mix well until the spices completely cover the tofu and onions, cook for 5 minutes.

4) Add in tomato paste and water. Mix well, cook for 2 minutes.

5) Add in yogurt and salt. Mix well, simmer for 3 -5 minutes, or until tofu is warmed through.

6) Serve with basmati rice and garnish with parsley or coriander (optional).

7) Enjoy!

Leave a comment